Ann H. Gabhart Inspirational Fiction Writer

The Heart of Hollyhill Series:

Read Jocie's blog, Hollyhill Book of the Strange

My Heart of Hollyhill series was so much fun to write and I appreciate each of you who went with me back to Small Town, America in the 1960's to meet Jocie and friends. Scent of Lilacs, Jocie's first adventure, was one of Booklist's top ten Christian novels. The story continued in Orchard of Hope where in one of the hottest and driest summers ever in Hollyhill, Kentucky, Jocie comes face to face with the Civil Rights unrest of the midsixties. Then in Summer of Joy, every knock on the door brings a new threat to my Hollyhill family's happiness. Since each book is a stand-alone story, you can jump in anywhere to meet some lovable and quirky characters, but I hope you'll want to read them all. The books are back in print with great new covers, and of course they're available as e-books if you like to use your ereaders. You can read more about The Heart of Hollyhill series here including the first chapters of each book.

SCENT OF LILACS by Ann H. Gabhart

  • A Booklist Top Ten Christian Novel.
  • Hollyhill Book One

The first book of this series, Scent of Lilacs, is an inspirational story of family Scent of Lilacslove set during the humid summer of 1964 in the small town of Hollyhill, Kentucky. On the surface, Hollyhill seems to be well insulated from the turbulent world beyond its quiet streets. Life-changing events rarely happen here, and when they do, they are few and far between.

Jocie's father, David, is a pillar of the community. But deep inside, he silently struggles with his broken marriage and the challenge of raising a teenage daughter on his own. Then there's Aunt Love, who's trying to forget her hurtful past by hiding behind black dresses and a stern facade. Even Wes, the newspaper pressman, avoids any inquiries about the road he's traveled.

But for Jocie, there are questions that need answers. As she digs into her family's past, she finds a whirlwind of discoveries, and everything begins to change. In the end, will Jocie find the answers everyone so desperately needs, or will her questions lead to truths that were better left uncovered?

Read the first chapter...

To purchase this book follow this link: Amazon and Barnes & Noble


ORCHARD OF HOPE by Ann H. Gabhart

Nothing will be the same after the summer drought of 1964.

Drought has gripped the quiet Kentucky town of Hollyhill, and the town seems as if it is holding its breath - waiting. Jocie Brooke is nervous about starting high school. Her sister Tabitha is experiencing the weariness of waiting for a new baby. Orchard of HopeHer father David is feeling the timidity of those first steps toward true love. All of these pivotal steps in life are awaiting the Brooke family.

Into this cloud of tense anticipation, the Hearndons move their family from Chicago to plant an orchard outside of town. Fresh off the Freedom Train, Myra Hearndon is sensitive to what the color of her skin may mean in a Southern town. Her family will have to contend with more than the dry ground and blazing sun as they try to create their orchard of hope.

In this close-knit community, everything is about to change.

Let this riveting novel take you along to experience unexpected love, new life, and renewed faith amid life's trials.

Read the first chapter...

To purchase an e-copy of this book go to Christianbook; Barnes & Noble; Amazon

Top of Page

SUMMER OF JOY by Ann H. Gabhart

  • ACFW Long Contempory Fiction Book of the Year finalist 2009.
  • Hollyhill Book Three

The third Hollyhill book Summer Of Joy, emphasizes the joy of living (hence the title) as this series of stories about Jocie and her family come to an end.Summer of Joy

In Summer of Joy, Jocie faces a lot of new challenges, some amusing, some sad and some scary.

The story picks up in November with David thinking about giving Leigh a very special Christmas gift. Jocie has a new journal to keep a record of what's going on in Hollyhill. A surprise visitor shows up on Zella's doorstep in the middle of a snowstorm two days after Christmas and rumors start swirling in Hollyhill. Wes has to face his past and Tabitha begins to believe she might have a future. Jocie comes face to face with her mother and finds out not everything in life has an easy answer.

Summer Of Joy is published by Revell Books.

Read the first chapter...

To purchase an e-copy of this book go to Barnes & Noble Nook; Amazon Kindle; Christianbook

Top of Page


Meet Ann and Photo Gallery | The Heart of Hollyhill Series | Angels at the Crossroads
All Ann's Books | Devotional Musings | The Shaker Books
Words Spoken True | Angel Sister | Questions Most Asked Ann | What Readers Say
Ann's Blog | Links | | News and Events with Ann


Home Page

Meet Ann and Photo Gallery

The Shaker Books:

Christmas at Harmony Hill

The Gifted

The Blessed

The Seeker

The Believer

The Outsider

Rosey Corner Series:

Angel Sister

Small Town Girl

Love Comes Home

Words Spoken True

Angels at the Crossroads

All Ann's Books

News and Events With Ann

Devotional Musings By Ann

Questions Most Asked

What Readers Say

Ann's newsletter

Ann's Blog

Heart of Hollyhill Blog


The Heart of Hollyhill Series:

Summer Of Joy Chapter

Orchard Of Hope Chapter

Scent Of Lilacs Chapter


"Gabhart's compelling characterization serves up a juicy slice of life in a small town where little is as it seems. Jocie's conversational voice and quirky sense of humor are a delight." - Reviewed by Jill Elizabeth for Romantic Times Book Club



Loved it!

This second book in the story of Jocie Brooke is just as good as the first one. I really enjoy Gabhart's writing style and her character building. I hope we see a lot more from this author in the Christian Fiction aisles of bookstores.

Liberty Joy, "Christian Book Addict"

"SUMMER OF JOY continues the tale of a family living in a small Kentucky town. ... As in all walks of life, people have problems to overcome, but the Brooke house is a happy house as it radiates with love. The story is well written with good pacing, and will be especially enjoyable for readers who like inspirational stories." ...Marilyn Heyman, Romance Reviews Today